Ok, so I’m becoming a fan of Elizabeth Hasselbeck. Not in the sense that I would actively support her (that is, I won’t watch “The View” because she’s on it, and I wouldn’t buy a product because she endorsed it). Mostly I just mean I have a non-neutral, non-negative (therefore positive) stance about her personage. Actually, the only season of “Survivor” I watched (well, I watched probably half of the episodes) was the one in Australia — All I really remember is that one man was from Texas, one man burned his hands, one woman was really irritating and juvenile, there were two old(er) people (I think a man and a woman), and it had Elizabeth Hasselbeck (but I think she had some different last name or something). I’m not generally much for celebrating celebrities, but there are a few I like. I’m a fan of Ravi Zacharias, an excellent evangelist and apologist (and his crew, to be sure! They do good work). I don’t really care about media celebrities as such, though I have found that I like what I perceive to be the persons of a few media celebrities (and I’m not sure exactly why these couple of oddities exist in my mental framework): I like Avril Lavigne (I don’t know anything about her, but in what I have seen she has some je ne sais qua that seems to me to be transparent and sincere); I like Johnny Depp (ever since 21 Jump Street and Edward Scissorhands); and I like Elizabeth Hasselbeck (recently). There may be a couple more, but I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

Anyway, my guess as to why I like Elizabeth Hasselbeck is manifold:

  1. She seems to be unreservedly and unabashedly feminine. That’s fairly uncommon in our culture right now, where it’s better to be masculine than feminine, but only if the femininity is fairly masculine. I think this is a phenomenon resulting from a basic logical conflict within “feminism” that tries simultaneously to assert:
    1. It doesn’t matter if you’re a man or a woman. (Manifested in the abolition of feminine gender nouns, such as “actress” or “stewardess” or “murderess” or “adulteress” or “heiress” or “congresswoman” (I’ve tried to run the spectrum on examples, including ‘good,’ ‘neutral,’ and ‘bad’ sorts of people in the stereotypical mind).
    2. It matters if you’re a man or woman. (Manifested in the claim that it is necessary to have a woman on the Supreme Court (or in Congress, or in the business world, or whatever else) in order to be representative of women.)

    When I asked someone about this (a university professor who is “into” feminism), his response was “Yes, well, that’s an open issue in feminism and has been for almost 70 years.” My own take on the matter is that when you find yourself in a logically contradictory position, it is the result of a previous error. Anyway, the point is Elizabeth Hasselbeck seems to me to be the good kind of feminine — one that is glad, of itself, but not self-consciously. I suspect she would not be offended by being called a “girl.” (That’s good.) There’s a real dearth of feminine women in America — in particular those who don’t think that a strong woman is a masculinized woman, but understand that the strength of woman is distinct from the strength of man.

  2. She seems to be a Christian who isn’t vapid about her own Christianity. She recently gave a good defense of the resurrection against the ever-vitriolic anti-Christology of Rosie O’Donnell and (the less acerbic views of) that other woman who’s name I don’t know (but she’s not Barbara Walters). Hasselbeck was insistent that the resurrection was physical, and she demonstrated some knowledge of the era — such as a brief touch on the role of the centurion who guarded the tomb.
  3. She’s pretty. Yeah, I know that’s not a popular reason, but what can I say? It’s like icing on the cake. By the way, I don’t mean that in an adulterous (that is, lustful) way. I mean simply that it’s pleasant to see a good looking person (tautology alert!), and I’m especially grateful to God that he made women pretty (again, not the same as “sexy”).

P.S. I found out about the resurrection thing not by watching “The View” but by hearing clips on the Way of the Master radio show.  Check it out, it’s worth a listen.

